Skip to content

Courier Journal’s article

May 7, 2014

Maria Kostandinithou Bell’s hometown of Ierapetra, Greece, may seem a world away, but she opens the door to the tastes of Greece six days a week.
Bell, chef and owner of Maria’s Greek Mediterranean Deli, 102 Fairfax Ave., is supercharged with energy and a passion for sharing her culinary heritage. She and her brother, Manolis, and daughter, Vidie, have perfected the team approach to running the deli. Bell does most of the cooking but has put Manolis in charge of gyros and depends on Vidie for much of the customer service.
“I’ve made thousands and thousands of dolmathes (stuffed grape leaves). And I have made close to that many meatballs. I never get tired of making either,” says Bell. But she doesn’t miss a beat when she begins describing the other dishes on her menu. Dips, salads, entrees and desserts are made fresh daily and are available as meals-to-go, or in many cases, as frozen and ready-to-bake for an after-work dinner or special occasion.
Any mention of fast food produces a quizzical expression and a shrug from her. She thinks food that isn’t fresh and well-prepared is a waste of time and taste. “Some Greek recipes take quite a bit of time, but they’re worth it. I put on some belly dancing music and cook away. I can easily get lost in what I’m doing,” she says.
She regularly conducts Greek cooking classes and will introduce vegetarian and vegan classes beginning April 27. She says that for some people, taking home Greek food isn’t satisfying enough. “They like knowing what happens behind the scenes. They’re excited about cooking it themselves,” she says. “Cooking Greek food is my therapy, my joy. I guess I just want to spread the joy!”

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment